New Zealand at a glance

New Zealand is a small country located in the South Pacific, consisting of two main islands, the North Island and South Island. Stewart Island and many smaller islands lie offshore.

New Zealand is an independent country that plays an active role in the United Nations and the Commonwealth. It boasts a modern, prosperous market-based economy, and depends heavily on exports. The main exports are agricultural products (meat, wool, dairy products), wood, tourism and oil. Its major export partners are Australia, United States, Japan, China and the United Kingdom.

New Zealand’s landscape includes vast mountain ranges, steaming volcanoes, sweeping coastlines, deeply indented fjords and lush forests.

Today more than 4.8 million people live in New Zealand. More than three quarters of the population live in the North Island, with one third of the entire population living in Auckland. The other main cities Wellington, Christchurch and Hamilton are where the majority of the remaining population dwell.

  • New Zealand boasts the fourth largest Exclusive Economic Zone in the world, covering 4,300,000 square-kilometres (
  • New Zealand’s estate includes 6,000,000 combining the EEZ and Extended Continental Shelf
  • There are known mineralisation deposits in the North and South Islands.
  • New Zealand has extensive in-ground coal resources – estimated to exceed 15 billion tonnes